Home Buying Terms (AKA “Rogerisms”)

Home buying terms are confusing enough on their own, but when I am out showing properties to home buyers, I often find myself blurting out phrases that might confuse them. In this latest episode of On the Road With Roger, I explain what I mean when I say things like “This home is a pig with lipstick.”

Following is a list of what I say and what it really means.

  1. Throw the net as wide as possible: Don’t limit your home search to a small geographic area (i.e. one neighborhood). In today’s hot real estate market, home buyers need to expand beyond the city limits of Seattle to find an affordable home.
  2. This house is a pig with lipstick: The home looks good on the outside, but the inside is disgusting.
  3. This place needs some love: The home needs attention – maybe a little work done to make it shine.
  4. This needs to be blown up: The home needs a total remodel or major work.
  5. They have done surgery on this place: The home has been updated and looks great.
  6. I need to schedule a physical: A home inspection needs to be scheduled.
  7. I need to schedule a colonoscopy: A sewer scope needs to be scheduled.

Do you have your own “isms”? Leave a comment and let me know!

Brought to you by broker Roger Morris from Roger Morris Real Estate

Leave a comment